The Nominations

2014 has come and gone and most boxing fans are likely happy to view it through the rear-view mirror. After all the splendid action we saw in 2013, the past year was without question a huge letdown. The number of great matches which weren’t made and the number of elite careers which have inexplicably stalled are testament to that fact. All this said, there were some highlights and it’s time now to celebrate them (while also lamenting the regrettable in one category). Herewith our shortlists and nominees, in no particular order, for our 2014 awards.

Fighter of the Year
Mauricio Herrera
Roman Gonzalez
Naoya Inoue
Sergey Kovalev
Amnat Ruenroeng

Fight of the Year
Travis Dickinson TKO6 Matty Clarkson
Francisco Rodriguez W12 Katsunari Takayama
Orlando Salido KO11 Terdsak Kokietgym
Lucas Matthysse KO11 John Molina
Tommy Coyle TKO12 Daniel Brizuela

Performance of the Year
Manny Pacquiao W12 Timothy Bradley
Roman Gonzalez TKO9 Akira Yaegashi
Sergey Kovalev W12 Bernard Hopkins
Naoya Inoue KO2 Omar Narvaez
Kell Brook W12 Shawn Porter

KO of the Year
Andy Lee KO5 John Jackson
Marvin Sonsona KO3 Akifumi Shimoda
Naoya Inoue KO2 Omar Narvaez
Carl Froch TKO8 George Groves
Nicholas Walters TKO6 Nonito Donaire

Round of the Year
Francisco Rodriguez, Jr. vs Katsunari Takayama¬†— Round 12
Travis Dickinson vs Matty Clarkson — Round 5
Tommy Coyle vs Daniel Brizuela — Round 11
Juanma Lopez vs Francisco Vargas — Round 3
Jose Lopez vs Roberto Castaneda — Round 1

Robbery of the Year
Danny Garcia W12 Mauricio Herrera
Mickey Bey W12 Miguel Vazquez
Oscar Encandon W12 Tyson Cave
Vyacheslav Glazkov W10 Derric Rossy
Jose Benavidez W12 Mauricio Herrera

Upset of the Year
Chris Algieri W12 Ruslan Provodnikov
James De La Rosa W10 Alfredo Angulo
Vivian Harris W10 Jorge Paez Jr.
Rogelio Medina KO3 J’Leon Love
Derreck Edwards KO1 Badou Jack

Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *