Dreaming Of A Welterweight Super Series

On Saturday the World Boxing Super Series gives fight fans another exceptional match-up in George Groves vs Chris Eubank Jr. as both of their ongoing divisional tournaments move towards exciting finales. The final pairing for their cruiserweight tournament was recently decided in most entertaining fashion as the semi-final battles — Usyk vs Briedis and Gassiev vs Dorticos — were two of the most competitive and entertaining fights of recent months. Oleksandr Usyk vs Murat Gassiev for all the cruiserweight marbles promises to be one of the best matches of the year come May. We can hardly wait.

Gassiev and Dorticos wage war.

Whoever prevails on Saturday between Eubank and Groves will next face the winner of a scheduled February 24th match between Juergen Braehmer and Callum Smith and the eventual final battle, while not crowning a definitive king at 168, will still go some way to giving the division some much-desired cohesiveness. But already boxing fans are looking ahead and wondering which weight class might be next to receive the Super Series treatment. Ideally, it would be all of them, but if we could only choose one weight class for another stellar tournament, surely the stacked welterweight division would be one of the top picks.

It’s going down this Saturday.

The good folks at Boxcaster agree and have in fact have gone one step further and already put together their top seeds for a welterweight tournament, proposing some mouth-watering match-ups from a field that includes Keith Thurman, Jeff Horn, Terence Crawford, Shawn Porter and Manny Pacquiao. All we can say is, “Hey, WBSS! Watch the video please! And let’s do this!” Check it out:

Become a patron at Patreon!

One thought on “Dreaming Of A Welterweight Super Series

  • February 13, 2018 at 9:09 am

    The winner of the WBSS Super Middleweight tournament will not unify all the major titles in the division, not even close.
    Benavidez, Ramirez and Truax hold the WBC, WBO and IBF 168 lb titles respectively. Of the series competitors, only George Groves holds a major title.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *